Adult Recognition

God Send Award Nominations

Nominate your most valuable leader for the God Send Award. This is a UNIT level recognition that will be awarded at the District Banquet. Each Unit can nominate one person that has given outstanding and tremendous effort and has gone above and beyond the call of duty to make this year a success for your Pack, Troop, Crew, Team or Post.

NOMINATE God Send Award

For more information, please contact Ken Cappon -

The Etowah District Banquet

Join us as we celebrate another GREAT YEAR in Scouting at this year's annual Etowah District Banquet

Thursday, May 11th 
Horizon Christian Academy
1270 Sawnee Dr, Cumming, GA 30040

$10.00 per person if registered by Friday, May 5th, $15.00 on the day of the banquet

Celebrating the accomplishments of the many Scouts and Scouters in our District, this evening of fun and fellowship will feature awards and recognitions from the past year of our dedicated Volunteers and Scouts. And don't miss the highlight of our evening as we announce this year's Scouter of the Year, Etowah Spirit of Scouting, and District Award of Merit recipients.

Sign up now for the early bird discount! Email Courtney Oliver or John Roberts to register.

6:00pm Silent Auction proceeds will benefit the International Scouting program
6:30pm Dinner
7:00pm Awards Program

NOMINATE Scouter of the Year Award  
NOMINATE Etowah Spirit of Scouting (Youth) Award
NOMINATE The District Award of Merit

Please forward all nomination forms to Ken Cappon no later than April 20th, 2017

Come celebrate with us!

District Award of Merit - 2017

Please submit nominations to this year’s Award of Merit committee chair by email at  Selected nominee(s) will be selected by committee and awarded at the Etowah District Banquet in May. Previous recipients are not eligible.

Deadline for nominations is April 20th


Square Knots - Meaning and Placement

The square knot device is displayed on the uniform to denote that the wearer has received the corresponding award. The award is usually in the form of a certificate and many awards also include a medallion or other momento.

A knot emblem does have left and right sides. The rope loop over the rope ends always is to the wearer's right. The diagram here shows how the knots would look to someone looking at the shirt. The knot images on the rest of this page all show the correct knot direction.

The square knots are to be worn centered directly above the left shirt pocket. The first knot should be placed with its bottom edge touching the top seam of the pocket flap. The next two knots are placed on both sides of the first knot in a straight row of three knots. Additional knots are placed directly above the first row with bottom edge touching top edge of the existing knots.

From the diagram, you can see that as additional knots are earned, single and double knots on a row need to be resewn. For this reason, some people prefer to place knots right-justified with the pocket edge.

Most common Boy Scout awards that have square knot patches associated with them are listed here.

To view a good selection and explanation of knot awards, please visit Boy Scout Trail Knots.

Past District Award of Merit Recipients
2016: Nichole Hernandez, Jack Crocker, Rob Osterwise
2015: Rebecca Warner, Sara Creager, Allen Norris, Ken Cappon
2014: Julia Murray, Bill Talbot, Andy Whaley
2013: Deliah Gravitt, Susie Barnicoat, Milan Wallace
2012: Russana Dudley, Mark Pouncey, Neil Funk, Marc Ferrara
2010: Brian Warner, An Roberts, David Waggoman, and Jim Holder
2009: Randy Watson, Ken Gross, Shawn Lafave
2008: Patrick Bell, Stefani Little, Tom Dillon
2007: David Doust, Mike Honiker, Dr. David Miller, Greg Willis
2006: Leigh Johnson, Lon Phillips, Rick Weber
2005: Tom French, Carol Moore
2004: Dennis Barger, Laura Chappell, Colby Strom, Brent Tucker
2003: Duane Fisher, Rick Folea, Darrell Holmes, Mark Moffit
2002: Bruce Kastner, Jerry Johnson, Jerry Long
2001: Barbara Kastner, Danette Little
1999: Ross Statham
1998: Doug King
1997: Vicki Hart, Mike Smith
1996: Mike Scarce, Chuck Treadway
1993: Tony Allen
1992: Jim Scully
1989: Rich Truax
1987: Larry Hill, Tricia Truax
Sponsored by Knivis a Lance Knight Holdings Company  
Web Content Management in Coldfusion: Knivis Empowered 5.0