Order of the Arrow

Japeechen Chapter, Order of the Arrow
Japeechen is the Lenni Lennape word for "along the bank", it is also the name of the Etowah District’s chapter of the Mowogo Lodge.

Chapter Meetings
Held the Second Thursday of each month beginning at 7:00 PM at Cumming First United Methodist Church simultaneous with Round Table

The purpose of the
Order of the Arrow is fourfold:
· To recognize those Scout campers who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives.
· To develop and maintain camping traditions and spirit.
· To promote Scout camping.
· To reinforce the Scout habit of helpfulness into a life purpose of leadership in cheerful service to others

Structure of the Order of the Arrow
Chapter Starting closest to the districts and affiliated with them are the O.A. chapters. In each chapter the youth members elect their own officers and committeemen who run chapter events and represent the chapter at lodge meetings. For now this is the web presence of the Japeechen chapter.

Lodge Each Order of the Arrow lodge is granted a charter from the National Council, Boy Scouts of America, upon annual application by the local council. The Order of the Arrow lodge helps the local council provide a quality Scouting program through recognition of Scouting spirit and performance, development of youth leadership and service, promotion of Scout camping and outdoor programs, and enhancement of membership tenure.

Mowogo Lodge 243 is the Order of the Arrow lodge of the Northeast Georgia Council. Their web site is at www.mowogo.org

Section An Order of the Arrow section consists of lodges within a geographic area of the region. Mowogo 243 is one of several lodges of Section SR-6 (Southern Region 6). Once every year, representatives of lodges in the section come together for a conclave to share in fellowship, skills, and training. All of the elected section chiefs form the conference committee for a national Order of the Arrow event, which is held under the guidance of the national Order of the Arrow Committee.

The regional chief is the youth leader of the region elected by the section chiefs for a term of office specified by the national Order of the Arrow Committee, which coincides with the term of national chief and vice chief. This election is held in conjunction with called meetings of the section chiefs to elect the national chief and vice chief, as well as to plan a national Order of the Arrow event.

The regional Order of the Arrow chairman is an adult appointed by the regional director. The professional adviser for the region is a staff member assigned to the position by the region director. The SR-6 web site is at www.sr6south.org

National Chief, Vice Chief and National OA Committee Chairman The national Order of the Arrow chief and vice chief are Arrowmen selected by the section chiefs, who form the national Order of the Arrow conference committee. They serve as members of the national Order of the Arrow Committee, representing the youth on national OA policy. They also serve as the presiding officers for the national OA event. Their term of office is specified by the national committee. They are advised in their responsibilities by the national committee chairman and director of the Order of the Arrow.

The national OA committee chairman is appointed by the chairman of the national Boy Scout Committee. The professional adviser is the director of the Order of the Arrow, a member of the national Boy Scout Division staff. The national site is at www.oa-bsa.org

How to become a member
A youth (under age 18) must be a registered member of a Boy Scout troop or Varsity Scout team and hold First Class rank or above. The youth must have experienced 15 days and nights of camping during the two years before his election.

Camping requirement: The 15 days and nights must include at least one, but no more than one, long-term camp consisting of six consecutive days and five nights of resident camping, approved and under the auspices and standards of the Boy Scouts of America. The balance of the camping must be overnight, weekend, or other short-term camps.

Election: Scouts are elected to the Order by their fellow troop or Varsity team members, following approval by the Scoutmaster or Varsity Scout Coach. Those selected by their troop or team are those that uphold the highest ideals of Scouting.

Elections are normally held in January and February. Use our web form or contact us at oaadvisor@etowah-bsa.org to schedule the election team to visit your unit and conduct the election.

Order of the Arrow
Brief History

The Order of the Arrow (OA) was founded by Dr. E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson in 1915 at the Treasure Island Camp of the Philadelphia Council, Boy Scouts of America, just seven years after Robert Baden-Powell started scouting in Great Britain. The Order became an official program experiment in 1922 and was approved as part of the Scouting program in 1934.

In 1948 the Order, recognized as the BSA’s national brotherhood of honor campers, became an official part of the national camping program of the Boy Scouts of America. It is a uniquely American "honor society of scouting".



Contact our Chapter Advisor at oaadvisor@etowah-bsa.org

Sponsored by Knivis a Lance Knight Holdings Company  
Web Content Management in Coldfusion: Knivis Empowered 5.0